The Essential Disney Collection is a Disney lovers dream album. The Essential Disney Collection is what it is: a collection of all the Disney essentials. This album really infuses a bit of everything that made Disney… well, Disney, over these past few decades. It’s also up to date, so you’ll not only see songs from The Little Mermaid, but High School Musical and Frozen both make appearances. While this may not be the original songs, they are performed by the Stars of the London Stage. So not only are the vocals top notch, the instruments sounds spectacular! My favorite would have to be “When You Wish Upon a Star” from Pinocchio. It’s quite amazing.

The song list is quite extensive and, like I said, ranges from the classics we’ve all grown up with, to newer stuff like Frozen. I enjoy the variety and I’m glad they decided to go beyond the “originals”, if you will. I also adore the cover art for the album so much. It reminds me of Pixar in so many ways. I think all Disney fans will enjoy this compilation album. It features all of our favorite while spinning a slightly different twist on them.


“There’s a terrific power to music. You can run any of these pictures and they’d be dragging and boring, but the minute you put music behind them, they have life and vitality they don’t get any other way.” Thus spoke Walt Disney with a mantra that in almost a century of film production has been rigidly applied. From Mickey Mouse’s joyfully whistled tune in Steamboat Bill Jr. through to Frozen’s Let It Go, music has always been one of the key elements of every Disney film. With this release the Stars Of The London Stage pay tribute to 19 of the very best songs from cinema’s greatest animation studio with particular emphasis on the last 25 years.

Performers featured include Louise Dearman whose West End roles include Wicked and KIss Me Kate and Helen Hobson who has appeared in Mamma Mia! and Aspects Of Love.


1. Let It Go (From “Frozen”)
2. I See the Light (From “Tangled”)
3. Almost There (From “The Princess And The Frog”)
4. We’re All In This Together (From “High School Musical”)
5. Reflection (From “Mulan”)
6. Go The Distance (From “Hercules”)
7. Colors of the Wind (From “Pocahontas”)
8. You’ve Got A Friend In Me (From “Toy Story”)
9. A Whole New World (From “Aladdin”)
10. Tale As Old As Time (From “Beauty and The Beast”
11. Part Of Your World (From “The Little Mermaid”)
12. Under The Sea (From “The Little Mermaid”)
13. Ev’rybody Wants to Be a Cat (From “The Aristocats”)
14. I Wanna Be Like You (From “The Jungle Book”)
15. The Bare Necessities (From “The Jungle Book”)
16. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (From “Mary Poppins”)
17. A Spoonful Of Sugar (From “Mary Poppins”)
18. Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah (From “Song Of The South”)
19. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (From “Fantasia”) 

disney4The Essential Disney Collection is now available on CD and digital download.

The Author

Travis Grimm

Travis Grimm

Travis has been a self-proclaimed geek ever since being introduced to Star Wars before he could speak. He spends most of his free time reading comics, watching TV, collecting toys, blogging, and traveling the US to attend all sorts of conventions. He also likes coffee quite a bit.

Previous post

GLEE: "The Hurt Locker Part 1" Review

Next post

LADY KILLER #1 is Fast and Fun - Comic Review