We’re getting not one but two “Star Wars” release dates. The announcements of these dates came during a call with Disney chief Bog Iger and investors on Thursday.

The first is “Star Wars: Episode VIII” which will be getting a May 26, 2017 release date. This date also marks the forty years and one day since the release of “Stars Wars: A New Hope” back in 1977. Iger confirmed Rian Johnson will be writing and directing for it.

The second will be a standalone movie called “Star Wars: Rogue One” and it will be released December 16, 2016. This film will be coming from Gareth Edwards. The filming for “Rogue One” will begin in London this summer and Felicity Jones is set to star in it. Simon Emanuel, Jason McGatlin, and Chris Weitz are the executive producers. Weitz also wrote the script with the idea based by John Knoll. Kathleen Kennedy and Tony To will produce with John Swartz co-producing.

The stand alone film is being described as:

“The first film in a unique series of big-screen adventures that explores the characters and events beyond the core “Star Wars” saga.”

And don’t forget, “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” will be released December 17 starting off the beginning of the new “Star Wars” cinematic universe.

Source: TheWrap

The Author

Sabrina Brown

Sabrina Brown

Contributing Editor

Previous post

Bring A Bit Of Duckworld Home With These 5 Howard The Duck Items

Next post

Interview: Steve West Talks about THE ORDER: 1886